Duavive - œstrogènes conjugués, bazédoxifène

Qu'est-ce que Duavive et dans quel cas est-il utilisé - œstrogènes conjugués, bazédoxifène ?

Duavive est un médicament utilisé pour traiter les symptômes (y compris les bouffées de chaleur) causés par de faibles taux sanguins d'œstrogènes, une hormone sexuelle féminine chez les femmes ménopausées. Il est utilisé chez les patientes qui ont encore un utérus et ne peuvent pas être traitées avec des médicaments contenant progestatifs (médicaments dérivés de l'hormone appelée progestérone).Duavive contient deux substances actives : les œstrogènes conjugués et le bazédoxifène.

Comment Duavive est-il utilisé - œstrogènes conjugués, bazédoxifène ?

Duavive n'est délivré que sur ordonnance. Il est disponible sous forme de comprimés à libération modifiée (contenant 0,45 mg d'œstrogènes conjugués et 20 mg de bazédoxifène), qui libèrent immédiatement le bazédoxifène et des œstrogènes conjugués sur une plus longue période. La dose recommandée de Duavive est d'un comprimé une fois par jour Le traitement doit être poursuivi pendant la durée la plus courte possible tant que les avantages l'emportent sur les risques.

Comment agit Duavive - œstrogènes conjugués, bazédoxifène ?

L'un des ingrédients actifs de Duavive, les œstrogènes conjugués, agit comme un traitement hormonal substitutif. Il remplace les hormones œstrogènes qui ne sont plus produites naturellement chez les femmes ménopausées, soulageant ainsi les symptômes tels que les bouffées de chaleur. Lorsqu'il est utilisé seul, cependant, l'œstrogène peut provoquer une hyperplasie (croissance) de l'endomètre (la muqueuse de l'utérus), ce qui peut entraîner un cancer de l'endomètre. Par conséquent, Duavive contient également le principe actif bazédoxifène, qui bloque les effets des œstrogènes sur l'utérus, réduisant ainsi le risque de cancer de l'endomètre.Les deux principes actifs sont disponibles dans l'Union européenne (UE) depuis plusieurs années. Les œstrogènes conjugués sont disponibles depuis de nombreuses années comme traitement hormonal substitutif, tandis que le bazédoxifène a été autorisé en 2009 pour le traitement de l'ostéoporose (une maladie qui fragilise les os) chez les femmes ménopausées.

Quel bénéfice Duavive a-t-il démontré - œstrogènes conjugués, bazédoxifène démontrés au cours des études ?

Duavive a été comparé à un placebo (un traitement fictif) dans deux études principales portant sur 996 femmes ménopausées, pour examiner ses effets sur les bouffées de chaleur ou l'atrophie vulvovaginale (sécheresse, irritation et douleur autour de la région génitale). Une étude supplémentaire a également examiné les effets de Duavive sur l'ostéoporose. Dans l'étude portant sur les effets sur les bouffées de chaleur, le traitement par Duavive (œstrogène conjugué 0,45 mg et bazédoxifène 20 mg) pendant 12 semaines a réduit le nombre quotidien moyen de chaleur modérée et sévère. bouffées de chaleur de 7,6 contre 4,9 ont réduit les bouffées de chaleur avec le placebo. Le traitement par Duavive a également entraîné une baisse moyenne du score de sévérité des bouffées de chaleur quotidienne plus importante que le placebo : 0,9 contre 0,3. Des résultats similaires ont été observés avec une dose plus élevée d'œstrogènes conjugués (0,625 mg) et de 20 mg de bazédoxifène par rapport au placebo. L'étude examinant les effets de Duavive sur l'atrophie vulvo-vaginale a révélé, par rapport au placebo, une amélioration de certains signes d'atrophie vaginale mais pas des symptômes les plus gênants. Comme les études menées avec une combinaison de dosages plus élevés n'ont pas démontré de manière adéquate que cette combinaison était plus efficace que le dosage approuvé de Duavive, la société a retiré la demande pour la combinaison ci-dessus. L'une des études a également examiné les effets de Duavive sur l'ostéoporose ; cependant, comme Duavive n'a pas démontré un avantage plus important que l'utilisation de ses composants individuels, la société a retiré sa demande de Duavive pour traiter l'ostéoporose.

Quel est le risque associé à Duavive - œstrogènes conjugués, bazédoxifène ?

L'effet indésirable le plus fréquent de Duavive (pouvant affecter plus d'1 personne sur 10) est la douleur abdominale (douleur à l'estomac). ) comme la thrombose veineuse profonde, l'embolie pulmonaire (formation d'un caillot sanguin dans les poumons) et la thrombose veineuse rétinienne (formation d'un caillot sanguin dans la veine à l'arrière de l'œil), ou les patients qui présentent un risque accru de développer de telles conditions. Il ne doit pas non plus être utilisé chez les femmes ayant subi un accident vasculaire cérébral ou un infarctus du myocarde. Enfin, il ne doit pas être utilisé chez les patientes atteintes ou susceptibles de développer ou ayant eu un cancer du sein ou d'autres cancers connus pour avoir une composante œstrogène-dépendante. Duavive n'est indiqué que chez les femmes ménopausées. Par conséquent, il ne doit pas être utilisé chez les femmes en âge de procréer. Pour la liste complète des effets indésirables et des limitations rapportés avec Duavive, voir la notice.

Pourquoi Duavive a-t-il été approuvé - œstrogènes conjugués, bazédoxifène ?

Le comité des médicaments à usage humain (CHMP) de l'Agence a décidé que les bénéfices de Duavive sont supérieurs à ses risques et a recommandé qu'il soit approuvé pour une utilisation dans l'UE. Étant donné que les effets thérapeutiques observés étaient inférieurs à ceux observés avec les thérapies alternatives (thérapies à base de progestatifs), le CHMP a conclu que l'utilisation de Duavive devrait être limitée aux patients qui ne peuvent pas prendre de telles médecines alternatives. En ce qui concerne la sécurité, le risque à long terme d'hyperplasie de l'endomètre n'a pas été entièrement étudié et le CHMP a recommandé d'autres études.Le CHMP a également noté que l'utilisation à long terme de Duavive est associée à un risque d'accident vasculaire cérébral et de thromboembolie veineuse similaire au risque observé avec l'utilisation d'œstrogènes conjugués et de bazédoxifène seuls.

Quelles mesures sont prises pour garantir l'utilisation sûre et efficace de Duavive - œstrogènes conjugués, bazédoxifène ?

Un plan de gestion des risques a été élaboré pour garantir que Duavive est utilisé de la manière la plus sûre possible. Sur la base de ce plan, des informations de sécurité ont été ajoutées au résumé des caractéristiques du produit et à la notice de Duavive, y compris les précautions appropriées à suivre par les professionnels de santé et les patients. De plus amples informations sont disponibles dans le résumé du plan de gestion des risques.

Autres informations sur Duavive - œstrogènes conjugués, bazédoxifène

Le 16 décembre 2014, la Commission européenne a délivré une « autorisation de mise sur le marché » pour Duavive, valable dans toute l'Union européenne. Pour la version complète de l'EPAR et le résumé du plan de gestion des risques de Duavive, veuillez visiter le site Web de l'Agence : ema.Europa.eu /Rechercher un médicament / Médicaments à usage humain / Rapports publics européens d'évaluation Pour plus d'informations sur le traitement par Duavive, veuillez lire la notice (jointe à l'EPAR) ou contacter votre médecin ou votre pharmacien. Dernière mise à jour de ce résumé : 12-2014.


Les informations sur Duavive - œstrogènes conjugués, bazédoxifène publiées sur cette page peuvent être obsolètes ou incomplètes. Pour une utilisation correcte de ces informations, consultez la page Avis de non-responsabilité et informations utiles.


Mots Clés:  diagnostic-maladies exemples-régime toxicité-et-toxicologie

Duavive - conjugated estrogens, bazedoxifene

What is Duavive and what is it used for - conjugated estrogens, bazedoxifene?

Duavive is a medicine used to treat symptoms (including hot flashes) caused by low blood levels of the female sex hormone estrogen in women who have gone through the menopause. It is used in patients who still have a uterus and cannot be treated with medicines containing progestogens (medicines derived from the hormone called progesterone). Duavive contains two active substances: conjugated estrogens and bazedoxifene.

How is Duavive used - conjugated estrogens, bazedoxifene?

Duavive can only be obtained with a prescription. It is available as modified-release tablets (containing 0.45 mg conjugated estrogen and 20 mg bazedoxifene), which release bazedoxifene immediately and conjugated estrogens over a longer period of time. The recommended dose of Duavive is one tablet once a day Treatment should be continued for the shortest possible duration as long as the benefits outweigh the risks.

How does Duavive work - conjugated estrogens, bazedoxifene?

One of Duavive's active ingredients, conjugated estrogens, acts as a hormone replacement therapy. It replaces estrogen hormones that are no longer naturally produced in women who have gone through menopause, thereby relieving symptoms such as hot flashes. When used alone, however, estrogen can cause hyperplasia (growth) of the endometrium (the lining of the womb), which can result in endometrial cancer. Therefore Duavive also contains the active substance bazedoxifene, which blocks the effects of estrogen on the uterus thereby reducing the risk of endometrial cancer. Both active substances have been available in the European Union (EU) for several years. Conjugated estrogens have been available for many years as hormone replacement therapy, while bazedoxifene was authorized in 2009 for the treatment of osteoporosis (a disease that makes bones fragile) in women who have gone through the menopause.

What benefit has Duavive shown - conjugated estrogens, bazedoxifene shown during the studies?

Duavive was compared with placebo (a dummy treatment) in two main studies involving 996 women who have been through the menopause, to look at their effects on hot flashes or vulvovaginal atrophy (dryness, irritation and pain around the genital area). . An additional study also looked at the effects of Duavive on osteoporosis. In the study looking at the effects on hot flashes, treatment with Duavive (conjugated estrogen 0.45 mg and bazedoxifene 20 mg) over 12 weeks reduced the mean daily number of moderate and severe hot flashes of 7.6 compared to 4.9 reduced hot flashes with placebo. Duavive treatment also resulted in a greater mean decline in daily hot flash severity score than placebo: 0.9 versus 0.3. Similar results were seen with a higher dose of conjugated estrogen (0.625 mg) and bazedoxifene 20 mg compared with placebo. The study examining the effects of Duavive on vulvovaginal atrophy found, compared to placebo, an improvement in some signs of vaginal atrophy but not in the more troublesome symptoms. As studies carried out with a combination of higher strengths did not adequately demonstrate that this combination was more effective than the approved strength of Duavive, the company withdrew the application for the above combination. One of the studies also looked at the effects of Duavive on osteoporosis; however, because Duavive did not demonstrate a greater benefit than using the individual components, the company withdrew its application for Duavive to treat osteoporosis.

What is the risk associated with Duavive - conjugated estrogens, bazedoxifene?

The most common side effect of Duavive (which may affect more than 1 in 10 people) is abdominal pain (stomach pain). Some women should not use Duavive: these include patients who have had problems with venous thromboembolism (formation blood clots in the veins) such as deep vein thrombosis, pulmonary embolism (formation of a blood clot in the lungs) and retinal vein thrombosis (formation of a blood clot in the vein at the back of the eye), or patients who are at increased risk of developing such conditions. It should also not be used in women who have had a stroke or myocardial infarction. Finally, it must not be used in patients who are affected or are likely to develop or have had breast cancer or other cancers known to have an estrogen-dependent component. Duavive is only indicated in women who have passed the menopause. Therefore, it should not be used in women of childbearing age. For the full list of side effects and limitations reported with Duavive, see the package leaflet.

Why has Duavive been approved - conjugated estrogens, bazedoxifene?

The Agency's Committee for Medicinal Products for Human Use (CHMP) decided that Duavive's benefits are greater than its risks and recommended that it be approved for use in the EU. Duavive has been shown to improve symptoms caused by lack of estrogen in postmenopausal women compared to placebo. As the therapeutic effects observed were lower than the effects seen with alternative therapies (progestogen-based therapies), the CHMP concluded that the use of Duavive should be limited to patients who they cannot take such alternative medicines. Regarding safety, the long-term risk of endometrial hyperplasia has not been fully investigated and the CHMP recommended further studies. The CHMP also noted that long-term use of Duavive is associated with a risk of stroke and venous thromboembolism similar to the risk observed with the use of conjugated estrogens and bazedoxifene alone.

What measures are being taken to ensure the safe and effective use of Duavive - conjugated estrogens, bazedoxifene?

A risk management plan has been developed to ensure that Duavive is used as safely as possible. Based on this plan, safety information has been added to the summary of product characteristics and package leaflet for Duavive, including the appropriate precautions to be followed by healthcare professionals and patients. Further information can be found in the summary of the risk management plan.

Other information about Duavive - conjugated estrogens, bazedoxifene

On December 16, 2014, the European Commission issued a "Marketing Authorization" for Duavive, valid throughout the European Union. For the full version of the EPAR and the summary of the Duavive Risk Management Plan, please visit the website Agency: ema.Europa.eu/Find medicine / Human medicines / European public assessment reports. For more information on Duavive therapy, read the package leaflet (included with the EPAR) or contact your doctor or pharmacist. Last update of this summary: 12-2014.


The information on Duavive - conjugated estrogens, bazedoxifene published on this page may be out of date or incomplete. For a correct use of this information, see the Disclaimer and useful information page.


none:  meat Power supply oils-and-fats